- Individual Bodily Injury Liability: $15,000
- Total Bodily Injury Liability: $30,000
- Property Damage Liability: $10,000
Do you think you are paying too much for your Arizona car insurance? If you are tired of being overcharged for your auto insurance coverage, now is the time to take action. By entering your zip code in the field at the top of this page, you can compare the rates for cheap car insurance in AZ, and build a policy that you can afford without sacrificing your protection. While price shopping is important, it is even more important to understand the auto insurance requirements and laws in the state of Arizona. Read on and learn everything you need to know about mandatory auto insurance laws and how to keep premiums low in the Grand Canyon State.
How Much Auto Insurance Must You Carry in the State of Arizona?
State officials in Arizona set mandatory auto insurance laws in an effort to protect drivers on public roadways. Believe it or not, Arizona has one of the highest accident rates in the country based on the population, and passing on the risk to an insurance company is the best way to protect yourself whenever you get behind the wheel. Liability insurance is the only form of coverage that is required in the state, and all drivers with registered vehicles must have insurance that is provided by a company licensed to sell auto insurance in AZ. The minimum limits of liability insurance that all drivers must carry continuously are as follows:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $15,000 per person up to $30,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability: $10,000 per accident
Both of these forms of coverage are designed to pay a third-party when you are deemed negligent for injuries and damage. If you want protection for your vehicle or your family, you must purchase optional forms of coverage which may include: Uninsured Motorist, Medical Payments, Comprehensive and Collision.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance in the State of Arizona
Driving without insurance can be much more costly than you might think. Due to the large incidence of uninsured motorists in Arizona, state officials have enforced stricter penalties for driving without insurance to combat the problem. If you are caught driving without insurance, or you cannot provide proof of coverage to the DMV, you may face these penalties:
- $500 fine on first violation
- Driver license suspension for 3 months on first violation
- Registration suspension for 3 months on first violation
- $750 for second violation, $1000 fine for third violation
- Registration suspension for 6 months on second violation
- 36 month driving privilege suspension on second offense
As you can see, getting caught just once without insurance can get expensive. Be sure to comply with laws, protect yourself, and keep the roads in Arizona safe by maintaining your auto insurance coverage.
Tips on Finding Cheap Car Insurance in AZ
- Always use online rate comparison tools to price the cost of insurance from all of the leading insurers in AZ. By doing this, you can see which companies are targeting drivers in your age group.
- Take time to request a letter of experience from your insurer so that you can receive credit for previous insurance and driving experience.
- Be sure to accurately predict annual mileage. If you drive less than state averages in Arizona, you may receive a low mileage credit.
- If you have a student driver, take advantage of Good Student and Driver Safety Training discounts.
Buying auto insurance does not have to be a huge burden. If you want to compare Arizona auto insurance quotes quickly from the comforts of your own home, enter your zip code, put your personal data in the rating tool, and see which companies are competing for your business.