Delaware Auto Insurance

Posted by Harry Wagner
Delaware Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements
  • Individual Bodily Injury Liability: $15,000
  • Total Bodily Injury Liability: $30,000
  • Property Damage Liability: $10,000

Are you shopping for affordable Delaware car insurance? If you are tired of opening your auto insurance renewal bills just to discover that your rates have gone up once again, now is the time to take charge. Many consumers put off pricing the cost of auto insurance in DE because they assume that comparison shopping is a time-consuming task. By entering your zip code at the top of this webpage, you can use an advanced online rate comparison tool and price the cost of car insurance from the comforts of your own home. Before you start requesting auto insurance quotes from premier Delaware auto insurance companies, learn about the important DE car insurance laws so that you can make the best purchase.

How Much Insurance and What Types of Insurance is Required in DE?

State officials in Delaware set the mandatory auto insurance requirements that all drivers in the state who own vehicles registered in Delaware must comply with. If you fail to comply with the state’s financial responsibility laws, you can be penalized in a number of different ways. In order to satisfy the state requirements, you must carry the following limits of insurance:

  • Bodily Injury Liability: $15,000 per person/$30,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability: $10,000 per accident

Liability insurance is designed to pay a third party if you are liable for injuries, death, or property damage. The limits listed above may satisfy the requirements in Delaware, but it is in your best interest to price the cost of higher limits so that you have adequate protection while you are behind the wheel. You should also price the cost of optional forms of cover that will cover medical bills and vehicle repairs if your budget allows. Additional forms of coverage that you can carry in DE include: Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury, Personal Injury Protection, Collision, Comprehensive, Rental Car, and Towing. When you retrieve Delaware auto insurance quotes, be sure to compare the cost with and without optional coverage so that you can build the best policy to suit your personalized needs.

Penalties For Driving Without Insurance in DE

Driving without insurance is a very risky choice. If you are tempted to start your engines and drive without insurance, you should learn the penalties of driving without insurance and how costly they can be. If you are caught driving without insurance, you will be fined $1500 for your first offense and $3000 for following offenses within a span of 3 years. In addition to being fined, you can lose your driving privilege and your vehicle licensing for 6 months. It is much smarter not to take the risk and to buy cheap car insurance in DE.

Tips for Finding Affordable Delaware Car Insurance

Now that you understand how expensive it can be to drive without insurance, it is time to find ways to find a cheap policy. You do not have to sacrifice your coverage to find cheap premiums, you just need to take advantage of discounts. Here are valuable tips on finding low rates:

  • Comparison shop by requesting quotes from several different insurers licensed to do business in Delaware.
  • Insure all of your vehicles with the same company for a multi-car discount.
  • Buy property and auto insurance from the same insurer to receive a multi-line discount.
  • Tell your agent if you have an anti-theft device for a discount.

Comparing auto insurance rates does not have to be a chore or a burden. If you are tired of paying rising rates, take action and use the rate comparison tool to price the cost of insurance right now. Gather your information, enter your zip code, and start quoting today.