- Individual Bodily Injury Liability: $10,000
- Total Bodily Injury Liability: $20,000
- Property Damage Liability: $10,000
Do you feel like your Florida car insurance premiums go up every year? Are you tired of paying these rising premiums? If you are ready to find an auto insurance company in Florida offering cheaper premiums, you have come to the right place. You no longer need to make excuses or put off pricing the cost of insurance elsewhere because you do not have time. In fact, if you enter your zip code at the top of this webpage, you can price the cost of auto insurance in FL in the matter of minutes. Read the straightforward guide to FL auto insurance, and then take action to find a more competitively priced auto insurance policy.
Understanding State Auto Insurance Requirements in FL
Auto insurance in the state of Florida is mandatory for anyone who owns a vehicle registered in the state. This means that permanent residents and snowbirds who choose to register their vehicles in the Sunshine State all need to carry auto insurance that is provided by an insurer licensed to do business in FL. Financial responsibility laws in the state of Florida require that all drivers maintain coverage as long as their vehicle is registered to be driven on public roads. At a minimum, all vehicle owners must carry the following coverage limits:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $10,000 per person/$20,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability: $10,000 per accident
Prior to October 1, 2007, all drivers in Florida were required to carry Personal Injury Protection coverage due to the no-fault rules in the state. While Florida still operates under a no-fault claims system, Personal Injury Protection is no longer required. If your budget allows you to purchase higher liability limits and optional forms of cover, you should. The state minimums may not provide you with adequate financial protection, and do not provide you with any type of protection if you suffer injuries or damages. When you are pricing the cost of insurance, request quotes with Uninsured Motorist, PIP, Comprehensive and Collision to see how much these optional coverages cost.
What is the Cost of Driving Without Insurance?
Insurance protects you financially, but you will have to worry about more than just getting into an accident without coverage with you choose to drive without insurance. Florida has one of the highest rates of uninsured drivers in the country, and in an effort to combat the problem, there are severe penalties for drivers caught without insurance. With statistics from the IRC showing that 23 percent of drivers do not have insurance, many people are taking a risk that is not worth taking. Drivers who are caught without insurance face the following penalties:
- Suspension of your Driver License up to 3 years
- Suspension of your registration
- Penalty to reinstate your license
- Fines of $150 to $500
Tips to Save Money on Car Insurance in Florida
If you want to find cheap car insurance in FL, you do not have to sacrifice coverages. You can cut the costs significantly by receiving discounts and knowing rating guidelines. Here are some tips to save money:
- See if insurance companies offer the following discounts: senior discounts, accident-free, organizational discounts, good student, anti-theft and anti-lock brake system discounts.
- Insure all of your cars with the same insurer to receive multi-car discount.
- Insure your property and cars with the same insurer to receive multi-line discounts on both policies.
- Take a driver safety training course to receive a discount for 3 years.
Switching insurers may be the answer if want to save money. Use the technologically advanced tool at the top of this page to retrieve Florida auto insurance quotes in 10 minutes or less. By investing minutes of your time, you can put hundreds of premium dollars back into your pocket to spend on something more enjoyable.