- Individual Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000
- Total Bodily Injury Liability: $50,000
- Property Damage Liability: $50,000
Are you tired of paying an arm and a leg on your Georgia car insurance? If you feel like your auto insurance carrier is raising your rates every term, it is time to start comparing the rates for Georgia auto insurance with other carriers licensed to do business in the state. Many drivers in Georgia choose to continue paying their rising insurance rates because they feel like comparison shopping is too daunting and time consuming. Luckily, comparison shopping can be easy if you enter your zip code at the top of this page and use the advanced online rate comparison tool. Read this straightforward guide to auto insurance in GA, and find companies who are competing for your business by offering affordable rates.
Georgia Auto Insurance Requirements and Options
You may be required by law to purchase auto insurance, but it is in your best interest to understand what you are buying so that you know you are protected while you are on the road. State officials in Georgia require that you maintain financial responsibility as long as you own a vehicle registered in the state. To prove that you are a financially responsible motorist, you need to carry continuous auto insurance that will pay damages to third-party drivers when you are liable for injuries or property damage in an at-fault accident. In the state of Georgia, the minimum auto insurance requirements are as follows:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability: $50,000 per accident
The auto insurance requirements in Georgia are designed to protect others on the road when you are negligent, but these requirements do not provide you with any type of protection. There are additional forms of auto insurance that will protect you if you are injured or if your property is damaged, and you should retrieve Georgia auto insurance quotes with these options as well. Be sure to look at quotes with higher liability limits to price the difference.
Some of the options forms of cover you can purchase include: Uninsured Motorist, Uninsured Motorist Property Damage, Medical Payments, Collision and Comprehensive. If your vehicle is financed or leased, you are required to carry collision and comprehensive cover to satisfy the loan requirements.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Georgia
Believe it or not, the Insurance Research Council estimates that 5 to 7 percent of drivers in Georgia are uninsured and choose to ignore the compulsory insurance laws. Failing to comply with insurance laws can be very risky, and state officials have enforced strict penalties to combat the problem. While some states only require offenders to pay a fine, in Georgia, anyone who violates insurance laws must make a court appearance and receive a 60 to 90 day license suspension. In addition to these penalties, violators must also pay a fine between $200 and $1000, and may even receive a jail sentence of up to 12 months. Choosing to drive without insurance is much more costly than purchasing cheap car insurance in GA.
Tips to Lowering Your Insurance Rates
You do not have to elect to carry low liability limits just to save money on your GA insurance rates. If you want to find cheap rates, here are some tips:
- Take a Driver Safety Training course or Traffic School if you receive a violation so that you are not surcharged for moving violations.
- Insure all vehicles with the same carrier for discounts.
- Insure home and auto with the same carrier for multi-line discounts.
- Give your agent your prior license number to receive experience credit for driving experience in another state.
Are you ready to start comparing auto insurance quotes? If you want to save money, gather your documents and start filling out the online quoting form. Once you are done, you can see which carrier offers the best rates for the most comprehensive policy.