Maryland car insurance laws require vehicle owners to buy a liability policy in order to drive on the roadways in Maryland. If you want to be sure that you are not paying too much for your auto insurance in MD, then you can use the quote tool on this page to get Maryland auto insurance quotes. You can enter your Zip code to get quotes on your car insurance. You should get quotes at least twice a year, and the online tools are the easiest way to get quick quotes without hassles.
The state of Maryland’s insurance requirements includes liability for both persons and property. You must carry 30/60/15 on your insurance policy. This means that you must have a minimum coverage of $30,000 for injury or death benefits for the first person involved in an at-fault accident. The $60,000 covers injury or death for two or more people, and you need a minimum of $15,000 in property liability insurance to cover property you may have damaged. You will also need to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) for $2,500 and Uninsured Motorist coverage for 30/60/15 to protect you in case an uninsured motorist hits you.
When renewing a registration or buying a new car, you will fill out a Maryland Insurance Certificate (FR-19) that states you will carry insurance for the entire registration period on the vehicle. It must be given to the Motor Vehicle Administration before you are issued a registration or renewal. Anytime you change insurance companies or let your coverage lapse, the insurance company notifies the state of Maryland, and you need to contact the state with the new information or risk being considered uninsured. It is your responsibility to update your insurance information, and failure to do so will result in points on your driver’s license. Points on your license will cause your insurance rates to increase.
The only acceptable proof of insurance in the state of Maryland is their form FR-19.
If you sell your vehicle or cancel your insurance, you are required to return your license plates to the state to avoid penalties.
If you are found to be driving without insurance, you face penalties and the loss of your registration and driver’s license. The first offense will cost you $150 if you have allowed your insurance to lapse for 30 days or less. Anything after 30 days accumulates a fine of $7 per day. You will also need to pay a restoration fee of $25. You will be unable to register or renew a tag until all insurance is current, and you may be subject to a fine of $1,000 and one year in jail.
If you are involved in an accident, you will need to show the law enforcement officer the FR-19. If you only have the basic liability insurance on your vehicle and you are at-fault, you will not be covered for any repairs to your own car. You need to buy a comprehensive and collision policy in order to be covered for damages to your vehicle.
It is possible to keep your cheap car insurance in MD while adding comprehensive and collision coverages to the policy to provide repairs for your own vehicle.