The Division of Motor Vehicles in West Virginia requires all registered vehicles to carry West Virginia car insurance. You can use the insurance quote section at the top of this page to make sure you are not paying too much for your auto insurance. Just enter your Zip code and compare your WV auto insurance quotes today. It is important to compare West Virginia auto insurance quotes often, and online is the easiest way to do that.
West Virginia requires registered vehicles to have liability insurance that is written by a company registered in West Virginia. Car owners must have 20/40/10, which means they must carry $20,000 in coverage for injury or death for one person, $40,000 in injury or death coverage for two or more people and liability for property in the minimum amount to $10,000. These dollar amounts may be required by the state, but they will not make a dent in many medical or funeral expenses. You may be liable for the difference if you are carrying a lower amount and the bills come in higher. There are ways to maintain your cheap car insurance in WV while having higher limits.
If you have good credit, or have recently completed a defensive driving course, you may wish to compare your auto insurance rates. Insurance companies give drivers with good credit lower rates because they are less likely to let their insurance lapse. Drivers who are defensive and have no accidents may qualify for lower rates as well.
West Virginia requires drivers to carry their insurance card in their vehicle at all times. They are also required to show proof of insurance when asked by a law enforcement officer. Verification of insurance is done when a vehicle is registered, as well as when a driver is stopped by law enforcement. Failure to carry insurance on your vehicle may result in a suspension of your driver’s license and registration. If you cancel your insurance, you must return your license plates to the state of West Virginia.
If you change insurance, make sure that you have the new policy before canceling your old policy. Those who are driving without insurance face fines and jail time for non-compliance with the state laws regarding motor vehicles. This is in addition to any tickets or court costs that may be assessed if the driver is found guilty.
If you have a seasonal vehicle, you must insure it, but when it is stored, you must complete and return a WV-4B, which is a seasonal statement of insurance, to the Division of Motor Vehicles.
The failure to show proof of insurance will result in the immediate suspension of your registration. It is a mandatory $100 reinstatement fee, plus proof of insurance. There may be an additional fee of $50 if a law enforcement officer must come and collect your license plate.
The laws regarding auto insurance in WV may require liability, but this will not cover your vehicle in case of an accident. You will need to carry comprehensive and collision to have your vehicle repaired if you are in an accident.