- Individual Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000
- Total Bodily Injury Liability: $50,000
- Property Damage Liability: $25,000
Are you interested in finding more affordable Alabama car insurance? If you feel like you are paying too much for auto insurance in Alabama, now is the time to use technology to your advantage so that you can lower your monthly bills and keep more of your hard-earned money to yourself. By entering your zip code at the top of this page, you will be redirected to a rate comparison tool so that you can compare auto insurance quotes in AL and choose the most comprehensive and competitively price policy. Before you start shopping for cheap car insurance in AL, it is important to understand state requirements and how to keep your premiums as low as possible. Read this straightforward guide to auto insurance in AL, and make the best investment of your time and money.
How Much Auto Insurance Are You Required to Carry in Alabama?
The auto insurance and financial responsibility laws vary from state to state. If you are requesting Alabama auto insurance quotes, you should take time to learn about the financial responsibility laws set by state officials. In the state of Alabama, the are mandatory auto insurance laws set for any vehicle that is registered and driven on public roadways. You must carry auto insurance in the state of Alabama if this is where your vehicle is registered, and you are required to maintain your insurance as long as the registration is active. In Alabama, the minimum coverage requirements are as follows:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability: $25,000 per accident
Carrying these limits continuously will satisfy state requirements, but it is important to build a policy that protects third party drivers as well as yourself. When you are requesting quotes for auto insurance in AL, take time to compare the rates for higher limits and optional forms of coverage so that you have peace of mind and protection.
What You Should Know About Uninsured Drivers in Alabama
Drivers may be required to carry insurance in AL, but not all drivers comply with state laws regardless of the penalties for driving without insurance. In fact, based on data gathered by the Insurance Research Council, between 16 and 30 percent of drivers in the state of Alabama are uninsured at any one given time. This means that the chances of being hit by a driver without insurance are high, and you should protect yourself by purchasing option coverage like Medical Payments and Uninsured Motorist.
Tips on Lowering Your Premiums
You do not have to select the lowest liability limits available in the state just to keep your premiums low. If you want to lower your premiums without lowering limits, here are some money-saving tips:
- Use an online rate comparison tool to compare rates from all of the most reputable lenders. Some insurers target a different demographic than others, and finding the company who offers drivers like you the best rates is key.
- Take AL driver safety training courses for credits and to remove violations from your record to avoid being penalized when you are ticketed.
- If you drive less than the average annual mileage, be sure to take advantage of low mileage ratings. Pleasure vehicle ratings are also much more affordable than commute or business ratings.
Avoid being penalized and protect yourself at the same time by building an AL auto insurance policy that protects you when you are on the road. Use the rate comparison tool at the top of the page to determine which insurer offers the best premiums and which limits are affordable based on your budget.