Mississippi car insurance laws require all drivers to have liability insurance on their vehicles before operating them on the roads of The Magnolia State. If you would like to find out if you are paying too much for your auto insurance in MS, then use the quote tool on this page to enter your Zip code in order to receive your MS auto insurance quotes. It is easy to use the online service and the quickest way to get quotes on your insurance.
The state of Mississippi requires registered vehicles to have coverage amounting to 25/50/25. This means that there is $25,000 in personal injury coverage for one person, $50,000 coverage for injury or death of two or more people and $25,000 in coverage for property damage. These limits are the least amount of insurance that is required, but may not be enough to cover expenses for hospital bills or other medical attention needed by those that have been injured. These limits are per incident and not per calendar year.
Liability coverage does not include costs to repair your vehicle in the event of an accident. You will need to carry comprehensive and collision insurance in order to get repairs done on your car. The liability is only for other injured parties. It is quite possible to keep your cheap car insurance in MS while having full-coverage insurance. It is a good idea to check quotes regularly to make sure you are not paying too much.
If the expenses exceed the amounts of your liability coverage, you may be liable for the additional damages and subject to a lawsuit. In order to prevent this, you may decide to use the state limits as a starting point and obtain more liability insurance.
If you are a good driver with a safe driving record, you may qualify for discounts on your insurance, which can reduce your premiums. Additionally, a good credit history will also get you a lower premium. If you have had credit problems in the past and have been working to repair them, get a copy of your latest credit report and see if you qualify for a discount at this time.
Other ways to get a discount on your car insurance includes adding anti-theft devices and driving fewer miles. Someone who uses public transportation to travel to and from work should let their insurance company know of a mileage change.
The state of Mississippi requires vehicle owners to carry proof of insurance in their vehicle to show to law enforcement if they are stopped or in an accident. They do not need to show it at the time of renewal of registration.
If you are caught without insurance, you are subject to a fine of $1,000 and a suspension of your driving privileges for a year. This is for the first offense. If you have insurance, but did not have proof of insurance at the time of the accident or stop, you may be able to shorten the suspension by providing proof of insurance. You will still need to pay the fine.