- Individual Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000
- Total Bodily Injury Liability: $50,000
- Property Damage Liability: $15,000
Are you tired of being overcharged of Colorado car insurance? Are you in the process of moving to the state of Colorado? If you answered yes to either question, you have come to the right place. By entering your zip code in the field at the top of this webpage, you can comparison shop the insurance rates offered by premier insurance carriers licensed to do business in the state of Colorado so that you never worry about paying too much for your auto coverage. Before you start rate shopping, you should take your time to familiarize yourself with the auto insurance requirements in the state and the coverage options that are available. Here is your straightforward guide to auto insurance in CO so that you can be a wise and informed consumer:
How Much Insurance Are You Required to Carry in Colorado?
State officials determine how much coverage drivers must carry when they own a vehicle registered in the state of Colorado. Any driver who does not have Colorado auto insurance on a vehicle registered in the state faces serious penalties which can include: fines, suspensions, reinstatement fees, SR22 filing, and even jail time for multiple offenses. If you are new to the state, or you simply do not know the mandatory auto insurance requirements, familiarize yourself with the laws. All drivers must carry a minimum of the following:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability: $15,000 per accident
These limits are designed to protect third-party drivers when you are found to be liable for an accident. There are other forms of protection designed to protect you from uninsured drivers or to pay for other damages that you suffer, but you must elect to carry the optional forms of cover. When you buy auto insurance in CO, you must build a comprehensive insurance policy that covers all of the bases. Other forms of coverage you may want to consider include: Uninsured Motorist, Uninsured Motorist Property Damage, Medical Payments, Collision, Comprehensive, Towing and Gap insurance.
The Costs of Choosing Not To Buy Insurance in Colorado
Drivers who fail to carry auto insurance will be penalized. There are severe penalties for those who are caught driving without insurance. If you are at all tempted to avoid buying auto insurance, you should know these penalties before you let in to the temptation. Here are the common penalties for failing to maintain continuous coverage:
- A fine of $500 for the first offense and 4 points on your record
- A fine of $1000 for a second conviction, and a license suspension for 4 months
- A third offense comes with an 8 month license suspension
- Payment of reinstatement fees
Tips on Finding Cheap Car Insurance in CO
The penalties for having no insurance are much higher than the costs associated with buying insurance. If you want to find competitively priced coverage, here are some tips on how to get low rates:
- Use the rate comparison tool to price premiums from several different insurance carriers
- Cover all of your vehicles with the same carrier for multi-car discounts
- Get multi-line discounts for insuring your auto and property with the same carrier
- Take advantage of low annual mileage ratings when you drive less than the average
Buying insurance in the state of Colorado does not have to be a burden or a chore. By entering your zip code in the field above, you can retrieve Colorado auto insurance quotes in minutes. Gather all of your information, fill in the form, and start comparing today.