FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from top car insurance providers and save today!

Connecticut Auto Insurance

CT Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements
  • Individual Bodily Injury Liability: $20,000
  • Total Bodily Injury Liability: $40,000
  • Property Damage Liability: $10,000
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist: $20,000 per person/$40,000 per accident

Are you tired of paying too much for Connecticut car insurance? Do you receive rising renewal notices every year? If you are ready to find more affordable auto insurance rates, you have come to the right place. By entering your zip code at the top of this webpage, you can find the cheap car insurance you are looking for without making a major time investment. Before you sit down and price the cost of auto insurance in CT, you need to take time to learn what types of cover and limits you are required to carry. Only after you have a basic understanding of the Connecticut financial responsibility laws can you build the perfect policy.

How Much Auto Insurance Are You Required to Carry in Connecticut?

Every state has its own financial responsibility laws, and all drivers are expected to prove that they are financially responsible when they operate a vehicle on public roadways. State officials in Connecticut take financial responsibility very seriously, and require that all drivers who take residence in the state provide proof of insurance before they can register a vehicle in the state. The mandatory auto insurance laws in CT state that all drivers must carry no less than:

  • Bodily Injury Liability: $20,000 per person/$40,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability: $10,000 per accident
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist: $20,000 per person/$40,000 per accident

Unlike a majority of states in the nation, Connecticut’s minimum insurance requirements are designed to protect both third-party individuals and drivers as a victim in an accident with a uninsured driver. While carrying the above limits will satisfy the state laws, you should carry higher limits if possible. When you raise your liability limits, you have peace of mind in knowing you have more financial protection. Keep in mind that your Liability and your Uninsured Motorist Limits must match in the state of Connecticut. You should also consider adding optional forms of coverage like Comprehensive, Collision, Medical Payments, Rental Car Reimbursement and Towing. Take your time to retrieve car insurance quotes with varying limits and different coverage combinations so that you can build the ideal policy.

Tips on Finding Cheap Car Insurance in CT

You probably stumbled across this page because you are looking for the lowest rates, but you do not have to select the coverage minimums and reject optional forms of coverage just to save money off of your CT car insurance premiums. If you want to save money the right way, here are some valuable money-saving tips:

  • Get Connecticut auto insurance quotes from several different insurers so that you can see which insurance carriers offer the most competitive rates in Connecticut.
  • Combine your property and auto insurance with the same carrier for discounts.
  • Purchase car insurance on all of your vehicles from the same insurer for multi-car discounts.
  • Raise Physical Damage deductibles when you have a young driver or a driver with a blemished driving record.

Make sure that you take the time compare auto insurance rates every renewal so that you know you are paying the right insurer for coverage. Now that you have a basic understanding of CT insurance requirements, enter your zip code, enter your personal information, and put hundreds of premium dollars back into your pocket this year.