A Louisiana car insurance liability policy is required for every vehicle that is registered in the state of Louisiana. You can compare rates on your Louisiana policy by entering your Zip code into the section at the top of this page that will give you comparison rates on your policy. It is always a good idea to compare your auto insurance rates regularly, and the easiest way is by doing it online.
The state of Louisiana requires the owners of vehicles to carry 15/30/25 in liability insurance. This means that the owner must have $15,000 to cover injury or death of one person, $30,000 for the death or injury of two or more people and $25,000 to cover any damage to property. This does not include any damage to your vehicle. In order for you to cover your vehicle’s repairs, you will need to get Louisiana auto insurance quotes for comprehensive and collision insurance. It is possible to get full coverage for your vehicle and still maintain rates for cheap car insurance in LA.
Since auto insurance rates are calculated on a variety of factors, one being the vehicle you are driving and two being your driving history, you can influence your insurance rates by making changes to those two things. If you have had tickets in the past, you can take a defensive driving course to help lower your insurance rates. If you do not want to buy a newer vehicle, you can add items like an alarm system to help reduce your insurance rates. You can always raise your deductible to lower your premiums. The less the insurance company needs to pay out, the less they need to charge you.
The state of Louisiana requires drivers to carry proof of insurance with them. That proof may be a copy of the declaration page of the policy, an insurance card or a binder for a new policy. The law states that an electronic display of the insurance information may be used to confirm insurance, but by providing the officer with the mobile device does in no way imply consent for the officer to do anything else with the device.
Active military personnel may store their vehicles and drop the insurance coverage while they are deployed overseas. They must notify the state in writing and supply the address of the stored vehicle. They must have the statement notarized and attach it to their overseas orders.
If a vehicle owner falsifies their insurance information, they are subject to $1,000 in fines and a possible driver’s license revocation as well as the cancellation of the vehicle registration.
A driver who is not carrying auto insurance in LA will be subject to an automatic confiscation of their license plates by law enforcement. You will also find they will impound your vehicle. You will only have three business days to provide proof of insurance before the state destroys your license plates and requires you to re-register your car. Fines and fees can reach over $250, not including court costs.