Are you on a mission to save money on your Minnesota car insurance? Just because auto insurance is a requirement in Minnesota does not mean that you are required to choose a specific insurer. If you are tired of falling victim to frequent rate increases, now is the time to start shopping and comparing Minnesota auto insurance quotes. In the past, performing a car insurance comparison was a daunting task. With the advanced rate comparison tool above, you can now enter your zip code in the field above and retrieve personalized quotes from top insurers in the state without investing a significant amount of time.
Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements in Minnesota
In the state of Minnesota, all licensed vehicles must be insured before they can be operated on public roads. Failing to maintain continuous coverage can land residents in hot water. The state is really buckling down and enforcing very serious penalties to uninsured drivers who choose not to comply with auto insurance requirements. If you are caught driving without insurance or the Department of Motor Vehicles is notified that your policy has cancelled, you may face the following penalties:
- Citations leading to a misdemeanor for a first-time conviction
- A fee of $200 for failure to provide proof of insurance to an officer
- Suspension of driver license
- Revocation of driver license for multiple offenses
- Jail sentences of up to 90 days in jail
The easiest way to avoid all of these penalties is to purchase and maintain continuous auto insurance in MN. Minnesota is a no-fault state. This means that all residents must carry both liability insurance and no-fault insurance by law. Liability will pay to cover third-party injuries and no-fault insurance pays to cover your own injuries, regardless of who is found at-fault for the accident. Here is a breakdown of minimum requirements:
- Bodily Injury: $30,000 per person, $60,000 per accident
- Property Damage: $10,000 per accident
Personal Injury Protection (No-Fault)
- $40,000 per person
- $25,000 per person
- $50,000 per accident
These may be the requirements, but most agents recommend that you select higher limits if you can afford to do so. If your vehicle is leased or financed, you are also required by the lender to carry comprehensive and collision cover.
Tips on Keeping Your Premiums Low in MN
If you are shopping for cheap car insurance in MN, it may be tempting to lower your liability limits and reject optional cover. Doing this will make you vulnerable on the road. Do not compromise your protection on the road and find ways to keep premiums low without sacrificing. Here are some tips to keep in mind:
- Raise deductibles if you need full coverage
- Advise your agent of aftermarket safety devices and anti-theft devices
- Complete safe driver or mature driver courses for a discount
- Drive less each year and pay less
Access dozens of Minnesota auto insurance quotes in just minutes on the platform above. Take action and take control of how much you pay for your coverage.